Habsburg Castle

Guided tours for groups

Habsburg Castle offers guided tours and special offers for groups. These can also be booked in English on request. Experience Habsburg Castle in a group. Museum Aargau offers numerous guided tours and

 
Hallwyl Castle

Guided tours for groups

Hallwyl Castle offers guided tours and workshops for groups. These can also be booked in English on request. Experience Hallwyl Castle in a group. Museum Aargau offers numerous guided tours and worksh

 
Wildegg Castle

Guided tours for groups

Wildegg Castle offers guided tours and workshops for groups. These can also be booked in English on request. Discover Wildegg Castle as a group. During the tour you will get to know the former residen

 
Lenzburg Castle

Header Logo

 
Vindonissa Legionary Trail

Tours for schools

The Vindonissa Legionary Trail offers guided tours, play tours and overnight stays in Roman-style accommodation for schools and kindergartens. Some of the offers can be booked in English on request. I

 
Königsfelden Abbey

Tours for schools

Königsfelden Abbey offers guided tours and workshops for schools. These can also be booked in English on request. Experience Königsfelden Abbey as a school class. Museum Aargau offers numerous guided

 
Wettingen Abbey

Tours for schools

Wettingen Abbey offers guided tours and workshops for schools. These can also be booked in English on request. Offers for schools (in German) Contact +41 (0)848 871 200 Send a message Telephone availa

 
Vindonissa Legionary Trail

Accessibility

Getting here Arriving by car For those arriving by car, disabled parking spaces are available on the premises of Königsfelden Psychiatric Services. These are only a few hundred metres away from the Le

 
Königsfelden Abbey

Accessibility

Getting here Arriving by car Visitors with reduced mobility can park at the meeting centre of Königsfelden Psychiatric Services. From there it is about 4 minutes to the convent church on a level path.

 
Vindonissa Museum

Accessibility

Getting here Arriving by car Parking spaces for people with reduced mobility are available at the Eisi multi-storey car park in the centre of Brugg. The short distance to the Vindonissa Museum is flat

Gradian
Virtuelles Schloss Habsburg

History of Habsburg Castle

Residents and construction history

Residents and construction history

Habsburg Castle, founded in the early 11th century, is the point of origin of an outstandingly successful family history. Here the headstone was laid for the latter dynasty of Habsburg.

Residents and owners

Radbot the founder

The Eigenamt, the territory between the Kestenberg hill and the rivers Aare and Reuss, was part of the early possessions of the Habsburg.

On the Wülpelsberg hill, Radbot and his brother-in-law Bishop Werner von Strassburg built the Habsburg Castle around 1020/1030.

1020/1030

The Counts of Habsburg

Radbot's grandson Otto II was the first member of the family to use the title Count of Habsburg holding the countship of Upper Alsace.

His descendants lived in their ancestral castle until around 1230.

11/12th c.

Ministerialis

After 1230, Habsburg Castle did not suit the ambitious comital family as a residence anymore and was invested as fiefs to low nobility ministerialis.

Thus the stewards of Habsburg-Wildegg resided in the rear castle, and the front castle was given to the Lords of Wülpelsberg and later on to the knights of Wolen. In 1371 Henman of Wolen united the two castle fiefs.

13th c.

Multiple change of possession

With the invasion of the Confederates in 1415 the Habsburg lost their ancestral castle, it was taken by the Bernese without a struggle.

Henman of Wolen had to acknowledge the sovereignty of Berne and, impoverished, bequeathed in 1419 Habsburg Castle to his nephew Peter of Greifensee. Peter sold it in 1457 to the Bernese, who in turn disposed it to Anton Segesser in 1462. By 1469 the castle ended up in the property of the Convent of Königsfelden.

14/15th c.

The Stewards of Königsfelden

After the secularisation of monasteries in the course of the Reformation, Habsburg Castle fell into the hands of Berne again and was administrated by its Stewards in Königsfelden.

Already decayed to two-thirds, the castle was only occasionally occupied by a guardian.

16/17th c.

In the possession of the Canton of Argovia

In 1804, Canton Argovia took ownership of Habsburg Castle. Several phases of renovation of the well-preserved rear castle succeeded.

The ruins of the rear castle were excavated and conserved between 1978 and 1983. Since 2009 Habsburg Castle is part of Museum Aargau.

20th c.

Construction history

The first castle

The first castle largely consisted of timber constructions.

The only masoned edifice was the partly representative, partly fortified residential building, a multi-storey stone house.

1020/1030

Extension to a double castle

In the last third of the 11th century the extension to a double castle took place.

The front castle was completed with the east and north towers. The oldest still existing edifice of the rear castle is the small tower dating from the late 11th or early 12th century. During the 12th century a two-storey chapel was erected in the courtyard.

11/12th c.

Extension of the rear castle

From 1200 on the rear castle was extended by the large tower and a curtain wall with a flanking tower at the northern hillside.

With the residential building and its inner courtyard the rear castle as it exists still today was completed around 1230.

13th c.

The trench

When the front castle was abandoned around 1220/30 and began to decay, the rear castle's ability of defence towards east was weakened.

Therefor the trench, dug in the courtyard in the 14th or 15th century, was supposed to hinder the approach to the remaining rear castle.

14/15th c.

Bernese restorations

After almost 300 years without noteworthy construction activities, the Bernese started restoration works in the rear castle in the 16th century.

The residential building and the inner courtyard were altered and extended several times. Around 1600 the well was given up. In the 17th century the castle chapel and the ruins of the front castle were torn.

16/17th c.

Renovations

From 1866 on Canton Argovia undertook several renovations of the castle, by then neglected for decades again.

From 1866 on Canton Argovia undertook several renovations of the castle, by then neglected for decades again. Today's completion of the interior of the rear castles residential building and inner courtyard date from this period.

19th c.

Excavations

After further renovation works at rear castle the ruins of the front castle were excavated and conserved from 1978 to 1983.

Special examinations of the courtyard took place in 1994/95.

20th c.
Opening hours & entrance fees
Exhibitions
Contact